Did Demi Lovato Finally Come Out?

After releasing the debut track from her upcoming fifth studio album, Demi Lovato has created a lot of speculation about her sexuality.

Opting for a sexier turn in her career Demi sings about being “Cool For The Summer” with suggestive lyrics alluding to a lesbian affair. “Got a taste for the cherry, I just wanna take a bite.”

When questioned outright if the song was referring to lesbianism Lovato responded: “I’m not confirming, and I’m definitely not denying” – before teasing “All of my songs are based off of personal experiences. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with experimentation at all.”

This latest revelation brings new indication that the rumoured Ruby Rose fling could actually be authentic. For those who don’t remember in 2013 Rose took to twitter and Instagram to claim she had “slept” with Lovato.

Now, with a new interview with Complex magazine, Lovato discusses those rumours for the first time. She insists she has never been in a relationship with the ‘Orange is the new Black’ actress, nor that the song is in reference to her. When asked if they hooked up Lovato once more neither confirmed or denied, heading into a lengthy statement that suggests the answer may not be a simple no.

“I don’t feel like any of my past or future—when it comes to relationships that may have happened or not have happened—are of any concern to anybody. What matters to me is my relationship with Wilmer. We are in an amazing place. Rumours are rumours, and people are going to spread them. You can believe what you want, but no, I was not in a relationship with her. By the way, love is fluid. Whether there’s been rumours with one specific person or not, that’s all that matters. Humans are humans, and when you connect with somebody on a spiritual level it doesn’t matter. I don’t want people to ever look at the past or rumours or anything and try to figure me out. There’s a lot of relationships that I’ve had where nobody has even guessed it. Not everybody knows everything about me. The only thing that matters to me is that people know who I am today. With Wilmer, I’m the happiest that I’ve ever been, so that’s all that matters to me.”

Lovato describes herself as a “gay activist” filming a music video at a Gay Pride event last year, speaking out for gay rights and previously portraying a bisexual character in ‘Glee’. On screen partner Naya Rivera also stated that the two used to kiss in her trailer before filming, adding further fuel to the fire.

Lovato has been in an on-off relationship with Wilmer Valderama for the past four years so she could either be bisexual, or maybe she really was cool for a summer. While some fans are excited about Lovato’s alleged open-minded sexuality others have said “she’s just using the LGBT community as a marketing base, knowing how influential gays are in the music and entertainment industry”.

Are you with us or not Demi? It’s not that big of a deal.

Leave a Reply

