Listen Now: Ciara Covers ‘Paint It Black’

Ciara just dropped her cover of The Rolling Stones classic hit “Paint It Black”, and it’s incredible.

Released in conjunction with The Last Witch Hunter trailer, the track was produced especially for the new Vin Diesel flick.

The updated re-imagining of the song is far more dramatic and haunting than the original 1966 version and features the vocalists breathy rendition as she brings her sensuality to the track.

The moody cover oozes sex both in vocals and productions, sounding as though it was lifted from the 50 Shades Of Grey album.

Speaking to Rolling Stone magazine the 29-year-old singer said: “To be honest with you, it was actually a surprise for me when I got the call from Universal Publishing and Lionsgate. When they asked me to do this, I was like, “Absolutely. This would be an honor.” I had never thought to cover this song. It was never on my radar to cover it, but when the opportunity came along, I was very thrilled, because I love what the producer Adrianne Gonzales did. The direction that she went in was actually a sound I’ve always wanted to play with, and it just didn’t get any better than being able to cover a Rolling Stones song. I feel like it pushes the edge and the limit for me, in reference to what people probably expect from me. So this was so many cool things in one. It was a huge honor, and then creatively I just got to really have some fun that I don’t usually do in my music.”

In the words of Wendy Williams “Why aren’t you buying her music?”

What do you think of the cover?

Leave a Reply

