Tom Jones Shares Homophobic Comments

Tom Jones, who was recently let go from The Voice for gay singer Boy George, has given an interview where he shares a baffling homophobic story.

The Welsh singer, who hasn’t had a number one since 1966, spoke to The Big Issue where he shared a story of recording his first single It’s Not Unusual.

He spews: “I was ready for most aspects of the music industry but when I met the producer Joe Meek, that threw me off a bit. Because he was a homosexual.

“I thought, wait a minute, is the London scene, the people who run British show business – are there a lot of homosexuals involved here? Because if so, I’m going back to Cardiff.”

“When I signed with Decca and Peter Sullivan became my manager… he said the same thing Joe Meek said – ‘tell the boys to pack their gear up, I want to talk to you myself’ – I said, ‘you’re not one of these queer fellows are you?’ And he said, ‘what are you on about?’ I became paranoid, you see.”

“I wondered, was that required to make a hit record? But then I got into it and I realised no, it just so happened that the first guy to record me was a homosexual producer,”

“Once I got over the shock of that, and realised it wasn’t true, most people were normal. Well, I shouldn’t put it like that. Homosexuals are normal, it’s not that they’re not normal. It’s just that they are what they are.”

We can’t figure out what Jones meant by this, or why he decided to share such an uneducated way of thinking but we’re sure we will receive a half-hearted explanation or apology within the week.

Clearly we’re very disappointed in his comments, maybe things we’re different in the 60’s but he still let slip homosexuals were something other than normal before checking himself. We’re sure he didn’t mean offence, but were also sure he’s ignorant.

At 75 we’re sure the singer won’t be in the public eye for much longer, so bye Tom.

What do you think of Tom Jones’ comments?

Leave a Reply

